I am far less regular in my prayers and devotions than I want to be. I make time to be still and quiet far less frequently than I ought to. But when life begins to spin and spiral and twist and contort, when my heart is heavy because of sickness and pain and sorrow, when friends and family suffer and mourn, I can go nowhere else.

This morning I sat down with such a heavy heart for all of life’s hardships. I felt such sorrow for all of the ways that we suffer here, most of which I see evidenced right now in the lives of the people closest to my heart. Chronic sickness that doesn’t get better. Acute pain that causes concern. Broken relationships that divide friends. Weak bodies that require mending. Everything seems wrong. Nothing is as it should be.

And yet, what does He whisper to my heart this morning?

“This is My doing.”

Wait. What?

It comes again. “Yes. This is my doing.”

image

He says it in 1 Kings. God’s people are divided. Israel is a broken nation. Everything seems wrong. Surely this is not what God intended.

One faction takes it upon themselves to fix the problem, to make war against the other faction and force unity upon Israel again. But God says, “Go home, every one of you. For this is My doing.”

These are the words that pillow my head today. My weary brain that paces back and forth over each problem, over every outcome, over all possibilities, finds rest here. Even when circumstances are pure sorrow, even when life is grief and living is pain, God is working and moving.

“Today I place a cup of holy oil in your hands. Use it freely, My child. Anoint with it every new circumstance, every word that hurts you, every interruption that makes you impatient, and every weakness you have. The pain will leave as you learn to see Me in all things.” -Laura A. Barter Snow

