My naturopath has forever been pestering me to take 30 minutes in the middle of the day to put my feet up, lay my head down, and spend time breathing. Forced relaxation is probably one of the hardest things for me to do. But I’ve figured out that if you place a fluffy baby bunny in my hands, it’s surprisingly easy.

bunny6 bunny7

The Sweet Pea has saved her money for months and has read every book in the library about house rabbits. She was giddy with joy when we finally brought home her bunny a couple of a weeks ago–an itty-bitty baby girl that she named Freckles.

Freckles bunks in the girls’ room. Her first night here she was a little skittish and the Sweet Pea slept on the floor beside her cage.

Surely you can see why Freckles has all of us wrapped around her tiny rabbit paw. This little bun is ridiculously adorable, and she likes to cuddle (she also likes to “claim” whoever she’s cuddling with, hence the towel between Freckles and me). The Sweet Pea and I have great fun foraging greens and herbs and flowers from the garden for little bunners.

And so a new chapter in our house begins. One in which we learn to communicate by twitching noses and ears, and to express our joy in binkies. What, you don’t know what a rabbit binky is? Click here to see it in action.

