A trip to the big city art museum, just the Sweet Pea and me.

light-and-sound

We were pleasantly surprised that the entire museum was featuring textiles. Who’d’ve guessed it? We spent hours visiting all of the stations with hands-on opportunities for arts and crafts.

sketching

The Sweet Pea surprised me when she chose this piece as one of her favorites. I think perhaps she liked the idea of being able to use art to create a completely fantastical environment. We had to walk through it three times to satisfy her curiosity.

red-foxes2

red-foxes

I chose this one as (one of) my favorites, a 19th century table piece made of cigar bands. It reminds me of concepts that intrigued me in art school–concepts of tangible representations of time and repurposing materials. And it was beautifully done.

quilted-cigar-bands

Such a refreshing time we had together! Sweet time with a sweet daughter, and necessary time feeding the creative part of my spirit that often goes without in the tedium of day-to-day living.

