It doesn’t look like much yet, but here’s what’s on my needles lately: the Viajante shawl by Martina Behm.

knittingI’ve been thinking about this shawl since the moment I first saw it in February. What a clever design! And why didn’t I think of it?? I went searching in my stash for a suitable yarn and came up with three skeins of a silky, lace-weight alpaca in a gorgeous black-blue color. It seems that my lace yarn is lighter-weight than the lace yarn called for, so my Viajante is knitting up extra loose and gauzy. I don’t mind a bit. It’s going to be just the thing to cover my shoulders (or neck, or head, or entire torso) in early fall.

detail

The pattern is mind-numbingly simple, just the thing for tucking into my purse to carry around with me to the playgrounds and swimming pools this summer.

