My spirit sings when it is time to poke my fingers in the dirt and sow seeds. The seed order inevitably arrives when there is snow on the ground, reminding me that, truly, winter will not last forever.

 

I don’t make seed starting a complicated affair. I save my spinach clamshell containers throughout the winter, poke a few holes for ventilation, and they make a perfect little greenhouse for spring seedlings.

 

The thinning always tugs at my heartstrings, cutting down a perfectly healthy plant so that another may grow stronger. Participating in His creation presents endless opportunities to learn about sacrifice.

thinnings

This year, I discovered an online gardening database, Folia. I can’t even tell you how much I love this network! A gardening community, valuable information database, and ultimate organizational tool all in one. I’m smitten.

