Tags

,

Recently, I found a cookbook in the library that took me straight back to my and the Sweetie Pie’s early years together. We met in Savannah, and lived there for our first two years of marriage. The cookbook was Mrs. Wilkes’ Boardinghouse Cookbook. Our apartment was just a block or two down the street from Mrs. Wilkes’ Boardinghouse, and we could smell the fried chicken from our front door.

So I took that library book home with me, and I cooked up some chicken and dumplings, collard greens, black-eyed peas, and banana pudding. The Sweetie Pie and I told stories about out time in Savannah. The kiddos ate it up–the food and the stories. And it happened to be the Sweetie Pie’s birthday, so he got a candle in his pudding.

I’m sharing recipes at the Plan to Eat blog today. Celebrate some southern sentimentality with us? The veggies and the memories are mushy, but so delicious. Click here to join our table.

(Many thanks to all of you, dear friends, who expressed care and concern regarding Monday’s procedure. While the results weren’t entirely positive, they were informative. I am hopeful for new treatments that will be more effective.)

