Our carpenter-friend came last week to install the bookshelves in our new Master Basement, and we’ve been moving in ever since. We even pushed the boundaries of hospitality, and asked our friends who were visiting from Turkey to help dismantle our bed and move it downstairs.

Friends, this bedroom is making me ridiculously happy. I never could have guessed how much joy I would get from real nightstands…

…and a pretty duvet cover, which no baby has ever spit-up on, thrown-up on, pooped on, or otherwise soiled…

…flowers by my bedside…

…and a chair with perfect morning sunlight, for sitting and reading before heading upstairs to start my day…

There is still work to be done, and we’re still waiting for our carpenter-friend to complete our built-in wardrobe. And next we head into the bathroom. But the beauty is slowly pushing back the dark and dreary, and it is sweetness to my spirit.

* What’s this post all about?

