You shall teach [these words of Mine] to your children, talking of them when you are sitting in your house, and when you are walking by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.
Deuteronomy 11:19

Oh, and also when you are riding in your car.

In our efforts to impress the principles of God and Christianity on our children’s hearts, we bought these CD’s. Let me be clear that we purchased these a long time ago and have listened to them for several years.

Last week, the whole family was in the car together. The first disc was playing and Jonathan calls from the backseat, “I don’t know of an Arthur in the Bible.”

The Sweetie Pie and I look confused.

“Uh, yeah. I don’t either,” the Papa politely responds.

Jonathan is quiet. And then I hear the song on the CD player:

“Did our first parents continue in the estate wherein they were created?” I suppose the artist should have enunciated more clearly, because our 6-year-old has grown up wondering who in the heck Arthur’s parents are.

(In case you’re wondering, here’s the answer to Question 13 of the Westminster Shorter Catechism: “Our first parents, being left to the freedom of their own will, fell from the estate wherein they were created, by sinning against God.” I can’t even read this without singing it now.)

