Gabriel, who is four, is destined to be the next Bob Dylan. At least that’s what we say in our house. He has this habit of making observations that, on the surface, sound ridiculous and nonsensical. And then you realize you’ve been thinking about what he said for ten whole minutes and you think he might just be the most insightful person ever. One of his favorite things to say: “If you do then you don’t, if you don’t then you do.”

See what I mean?

And then sometimes he will come out with the cleverest jokes, completely out of nowhere.

Case in point: This happened to our car in the grocery store parking lot last week:

No need to go into all the gory details, suffice it to say that I’ve had more than my share of argumentative phone calls with insurance companies in the past week and a half. I think Gabriel may have overheard one or two of them.

And so I should have gotten the joke sooner when Gabriel said at dinner one night, “Papa, we need to take our car to the dentist.”

I was the last one to laugh. At the mention of the car, I began thinking of my most recent phone conversation and all I could think was “Why does the car need a dentist? What a goofy thing to say.”

Yes, God knew what He was doing when He sent Gabriel into this family of bookish-introverts. The poor kid has his job cut out for him–getting his family to see the lighter side of life. We hope he doesn’t give up on us.

