Tags

, , ,

Somewhere around week two of bedrest the Sweetie Pie picked up some things I’d requested from our library and brought them to my hospital room. Among them was this incredible Rob Bell video. I’m not impressed by everything Rob Bell has to say, but this lecture was utterly transformative.

Mr. Bell opened my eyes to The God of Yes, And….. Or as he would probably call it, The God of “Yep”.

Allow me to explain.

Every year after Thanksgiving dinner, while we’re all still sitting at the table, but after everyone has eaten his dinner, the question comes, “Do we want dessert now or later?” And the answer is always the same, “Yes.” Meaning, of course, we’d like to have dessert both now and later.

Mr. Bell uses a clever example of a marker, which viewed from the side gives the impression of it being a rectangle. When viewed from the end it appears to be a circle. So which is it? It’s both.

Often the answer may not actually be either x or y. Maybe the answer is both x and y. Maybe the answer is yes, and…..

A few weeks ago, some friends and I debated the apparent merits and flaws of expectations. Is it okay to have expectations of people? Some thought that expectations were a healthy expression of personal boundaries. Some thought that expectations were unfair millstones placed around another’s neck. After some discussion in which we all floundered around for words to express our thoughts, we came to the conclusion that we were both right. We embraced the God of Yes (some expectations are reasonable and valid), And…. (those expectations can sometimes turn into weapons).

As I look around at my current surroundings, I’m seeing a lot of opportunities to embrace the God of Yes, And…..

Yes (God loves me), And… (He brings me pain)

Yes (God is Good), And…. (He gives me things that seem bad)

Yes (I will screw up), And…. (He will employ even my mistakes for His purposes)

In my feeble, fumbling attempts to draw close to God and to know Him better, I have only realized that He is utter mystery. He defies understanding. And yet that doesn’t make Him unknowable.

Where I cannot trace His hand, I will trust His heart.

I don’t have to understand His ways, in order to know His heart. When I doubt the goodness of what I’m given, I will trust the goodness of the Giver.

