Tags

, , ,

Confession: I’ve been grumbling this week.

Twice a year the change of seasons coincides with the undeniable fact that my children are getting bigger, and I haul out box after box after box of clothes that have been stored (and bag after bag after bag of clothes that have been “stashed” since the last big overhaul). It takes at least a week to get through all four kids. And being surrounded by the disarray makes me very grumpy.

At some point this week, as I was sorting through a table full of clothes, it struck me that I was looking at such a huge blessing, and instead of being thankful, I was complaining about it.

And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith.

Matthew 6:28-30

What a bounty of provision I had before me! I ought to be singing over it with gratitude, but instead I was sighing with heaviness.

I give You thanks for healthy children who outgrow their clothing….

…for all of the little feet that have been in these shoes, and all the places we’ve been together…..

….for health and strength to carry clothing up and down (and up and down) the stairs…

…for order in the chaos….

….and for the opportunity to bless others through the gifts we’ve been given…

